image image image image image

How Telangana Voted in Its First Election


Telangana, the newest state of India, officially came into existence on June 2, 2014. The historical journey began with the region gaining independence from the Nizam's rule in 1948 and later merging with India. The State Reorganisation Committee recommended forming Andhra Pradesh in 1956, but discontent over breaches of the Gentlemen's Agreement led to the Telangana Movement in 1969. In 2001, the TRS was formed, advocating for a separate Telangana state. The culmination was on October 3, 2013, when the Union Cabinet approved Telangana's formation. The Telangana Bill received parliamentary approval in February 2014, officially establishing the state on June 2, 2014.

First Telangana Legislative Assembly Election in 2014 played an important role in shaping the landscape of the newly formed state. With 119 seats contested, the TRS emerged as the dominant force, securing 63 seats. The Indian National Congress (INC) and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) followed with 21 and 15 seats, respectively. Notably, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) demonstrated influence, particularly in Hyderabad. District-wise, the urban centres of Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad saw a diverse distribution of seats, while Adilabad and Nizamabad predominantly favoured TRS. These election results underscored the regional dynamics and set the stage for the TRS, led by K. Chandrashekar Rao, to assume control and shape the governance of the newly formed state.

In comparison to the 2009 Andhra Pradesh Assembly election, where Congress had taken the lead, winning 156 of the 294 seats, the 2014 Telangana Legislative Assembly Election marked a shift in the dynamics. The TRS's decisive victory showcased the people's mandate for a separate Telangana and signalled a new era in the region's political landscape.

Telangana Legislative Assembly Election 2014 Results: Parties and Seat Distribution
Party and Coalitions Seats Won
Telangana Rashtra Samithi 63
Indian National Congress 21
Telugu Desam Party 15
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen 7
Bharatiya Janata Party 5
YSR Congress Party 3
Bahujan Samaj Party 2
Communist Party of India 1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 1
Independents 1

Source : ECI

Development Initiatives and Policies in Telangana: From 2014 to 2016, Telangana underwent significant development initiatives, like - Mission Kakatiya, launched in 2014 with an investment of INR 20,000 crores, aimed to revive 46,300 tanks, drawing inspiration from historical rulers and targeting water supply for agriculture. The Telangana Water Grid Project (Jala Haram), led by Irrigation Minister Harish Rao, ensured access to 100-150 litres of clean water per person in rural and urban areas, incorporating advanced technology for efficient monitoring.

The Swachh Telangana/Hyderabad Mission, aligned with the national "Swachh Bharat" campaign, was initiated in 2015 by Chief Minister KCR, allocating substantial funds and garnering support for a cleaner environment. Additionally, the Industrial Policy Framework of 2014 attracted investments by clearing 17 projects worth Rs 1500 crores within 15 days, fostering a conducive environment for industrial growth. Concurrently, the formation of Telangana in 2014 involved the creation of a Group of Ministers (GoM), led by Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde, which played a very role in addressing challenges during the statehood formation, culminating in Telangana's official establishment on June 2, 2014.

As Telangana embraced its statehood and ventured into governance, the electoral process became a cornerstone of its democratic journey, shaping the destiny of the region and laying the foundation for subsequent political and developmental initiatives, we anticipate insightful analysis on the 2023 Assembly Elections. Join us in our series, Countdown to the 2023 Telangana Assembly Election: Strategies and Rallies (



Sr. Executive
People & Culture

Registered Address:

A237 2nd floor, JMD megapolis, Sector 48 Sohna road,
Gurgaon, Haryana -122018

Contact Us

Please send your queries to :

Dhruv Research owned by DHRUVA RESEARCH
Copyright © 2021 DHRUVA RESEARCH.
All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy

Indian Constitutional
provisions for Surveys